The 1979 Hoopeston East Lynn Boys’Cross Country Team finished its record season with an impressive 12-1 dual meet record.

The team logged numerous accomplishments leading up to their remarkable record. The varsity team placed 3rd in the St. Joe-Ogdon Invitational, 1st at the Clifton Central Invitational,  and 4th in the Bismarck-Henning Invitational. They finished first in the Wauseca Conference.

This team went on to participate in the IHSA State Cross Country series. They finished 2nd at the Beecher District Meet, 2nd in sectionals and culminated their season with a 3rd place finish in the state finals in Peoria.

Individual performances include and 2nd place finish for Jeff Stipp in the state finals. He was also named to the All State Team and the Wauseca All Conference Team where he was reigning champion.  Conference Honor Mention accolades went to Kirt Davis and Rey Montez.

Member of the 1979 team include:

  • Coach Quentin Ryder
  • John Layden
  • Kirt Davis
  • Lupe Ramos
  • Rodney Ramos
  • Rey Montez
  • Javier Lopez
  • Scott Wonderlin
  • Stewart Coffman
  • Jeff Stipp
  • Glen Judy
  • Mark Hartz
  • Bob Alexander
  • Brian Pierce
  • Billy DeWitt